February 19, 2018

29 states have no Resident Electoral Commissioners – report

29 states have no Resident Electoral Commissioners – report

In what appears to be a recipe for a major electoral crisis, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has no Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs, in 29 out of the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.

This is despite the fact that aside the chairman of the commission, INEC currently has six out of 12 national commissioners stipulated by the 1999 Constitution, in place. According to a Staff Nominal Roll obtained by Sunday Vanguard, the sordid state of affairs cuts across the six geo-political zones with the North West being the worst-hit. The zone which has seven states has no RECS. Read more

InnJoo Reborn

We think you'd love these too...



READ  Nigerians confess #ThingsWeDoForLove

Related posts

Share your thoughts.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *