2nd Beeta Playwright Competition accepting entries until August 31

2nd Beeta Playwright Competition accepting entries until August 31

Beeta Universal Arts Foundation (BUAF), in partnership with Union Bank of Nigeria Plc, has announced the second edition of Beeta Playwright Competition (BPC), aimed at discovering new talents in the play writing art. The competition is also aimed at preserving the Nigerian culture, history and heritage through raising new playwrights adept at conceptualising new plays that capture all areas of the country’s life, from the grand to the absurd.

Entry for the competition, which is open to indigenous playwrights between ages 18-40, will end on August 31, 2018. This would be followed by the announcement of the top 10 finalists, who would participate in a writing workshop after which the winner would be announced at the grand finale.

Award winning actress and producer, Bikiya Graham-Douglas, conceptualised Beeta Playwright Competition (BPC) so as to make a difference in unveiling and showcasing Nigeria’s emerging playwrights for the next generation. Paul Ugbede’s play, Our Son the Minister, emerged winner of the competition’s first edition. Graham-Douglas’ foundation published the play and staged it to give it flesh and life at Terra Kulture Arena. It also toured the country.

According Union Bank’s Head of Corporate Communication and Marketing, Ogochukwu Ekezie-Ekaidem, the bank recognises how invaluable arts is to Nigeria’s culture and history, hence the commitment to developing talents in the creative industry through partnership with BUAF.

The competition, which is also supported by The Guardian, Nigeria, WAPIC Insurance Plc, Terra Kulture, Olajide & Oyewole LLP, and YNaija.com awards N1 million worth of prizes to the winner plus a publishing deal with Paper Worth Books Limited. It culminates in the stage production of the winning entry by BUAF at Terra Kulture Arena.

The second edition has, Shaibu Husseini, Ego Boyo, Ayo Jaiyesimi, Kenneth Uphopho, and Ibiso Graham-Douglas as the panel of judges for the competition, with Prof. Ahmed Yerima as chairman.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *