July 23, 2018

31 Finalists Announced for CNN African Journalist Awards

31 Finalists Announced for CNN African Journalist Awards

31 finalists from 15 countries have been announced for the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 Competition by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel. The competition which is in a landmark 20th year,  entries from 39 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

Tony Maddox, Executive Vice-President and Managing Director of CNN International said: “The quality and breadth of entries in this, its 20th, year is testament to the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards’ position as the most prestigious recognition for journalism across the continent. CNN is privileged to be involved in this important initiative to honor the outstanding work across multiple platforms, topics and journalistic disciplines. I salute the finalists for the great work that they have done and look forward to seeing their future achievements.”

The winners will be announced at a Gala Award Ceremony in October 2015 in Nairobi and will have winners of past years in attendance in a celebration of 20 years of the award.

“We continue to be amazed by the resourcefulness and growth of journalists in the complexity and immediacy of the digital and online age of news and information. That is why we remain committed to nurturing and growing African journalists who have a huge responsibility and role to play and where tech-savvy readers have the ability to follow breaking stories and are not shy to engage in dialogue on a number of different platforms,” Tim Jacobs, CEO MultiChoice Africa said. “The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year Awards have for the past 20 years provided a voice for credible journalism. As we celebrate this remarkable milestone, we can only commend the journalists for leaving no stone unturned in telling the important stories.”

See full list of winners below:


  1. Fiifi Essilfie Anaman, Freelance for zonalsports.com, Ghana
  2. Benedicta Asiimwe, Freelance for Daily Monitor, Uganda
  3. Femi Asu, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria
  4. Domingos Bento, redeangola.info, Angola
  5. Thomas Naadi Bitlegma, Viasat1, Ghana
  6. Sheriff Bojang Jnr, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal
  7. Ruth Butaumocho, The Herald, Zimbabwe
  8. Ibrahima Diallo, Radiodiffusion Télévision Sénégalaise (RTS), Senegal
  9. Adewale Olugbenga Emosu, tribuneonlineng.com, Nigeria
  10. Chahinaz Samir Gheith, Freelance for Al-Ahram Hebdo, Egypt
  11. Carla Gonçalves, A Nação, Cape Verde
  12. Boldwill Hungwe, Zimbabwe Independent, Zimbabwe
  13. Ibanga Isine, Premium Times Newspaper, Nigeria
  14. Paul Kelemba, Freelance for The Standard on Saturday, Kenya
  15. Deo Gratias Tchédé Kindoho, Radio Bénin, Benin
  16. Julie Laurenz & Jacqueline Jayamaha, Freelance for e.tv, South Africa
  17. Petride Mudoola, Freelance for Sunday Vision, Uganda
  18. Abubakari Akida Mussa, Mtanzania Newspaper, Tanzania
  19. Pedro Paxi Pereira Ndoma, TV Zimbo, Angola
  20. George Oduor Otieno, Baraka FM, Kenya
  21. Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou, L’Observateur Paalga, Burkina Faso
  22. Enock Sikolia & Charles Kariuki, NTV, Kenya
  23. Arison Tamfu, Cameroon Journal, Cameroon
  24. Kọ́lá Túbọ̀sún, Blogger at ktravula.com, Nigeria
  25. Arukaino Umukoro, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria
  26. Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique
  27. Herman Verwey, Beeld, South Africa
  28. Kiundu Waweru, The Standard on Saturday, Kenya
  29. Sarah Wild, Mail & Guardian, South Africa


The competition is supported by the following sponsors: A24 Media, African Development Bank, Dow, Ecobank, GE, IPP Media and MSD (MSD is known as Merck in the U.S. and Canada).

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *