Asa headlines Etisalat Prize grand finale tomorrow

Asa headlines Etisalat Prize grand finale tomorrow

The Etisalat Prize for Literature scores a big one as  award-winning singer and songwriter, Asa, is billed at the grand finale taking place tomorrow, March 19, 2016.

The ceremony which had the Grammy- award winning Angelique Kidjo at the last event will be attended by high profile guests made up of top government officials, writers, book critics and academics from across Africa.

Darey Art Alade will also be performing at the event.


The Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 is a three-way literary battle on who will win Africa’s most prestigious literature Prize. The shortlisted books are The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by South Africa’s Penny Busetto, Tram 83 by Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila and What Will People Say? by another South African, Rehana Rossouw.

This year’s Award Ceremony will embody the theme Representing the Diversity of African Voices by showcasing the richness of Africa and how our diversity converges into one unique voice of the continent.

As part of the build-up to the grand finale, the shortlisted writers were at a book reading moderated by writer and publisher Eghosa Imaseun, which held at Four Points by Sheraton on Thursday, 17th March, 2016. The writers read from their books and engaged the moderator and audience in a discussions about their inspiration and influences, providing Nigerians with a peep into their minds.

Etisalat Prize for Literature Book Reading  (1)

The winner of the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen and a high end device. The winner will also attend the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia under the mentorship Giles Foden. The Etisalat Prize for Literature also aims to promote the publishing industry at large and will therefore purchase 1000 copies of all shortlisted books which will be donated to various schools, book clubs and libraries across the African continent.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature is not only about debut fiction novels. The prize also recognizes unpublished short story writers in the Flash Fiction Category, and this year’s winner will go home with a cash prize of £1,000, a high end device, and will have his or her published e-book promoted online and via SMS.


photo credit

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *