Awele Creative Trust announces Act Award 2017 shortlist

Awele Creative Trust announces Act Award 2017 shortlist

The Awele Creative Trust (ACT) has announced the shortlist for the ACT Award 2017. This is the fourth edition of the annual short story prize conceived to encourage aspiring writers in Nigeria worth N50, 000.

Awele Creative Trust was set up in 2014 by award winning writer, Chika Unigwe, who is also its creative director. Prof. Akachi Ezeigbo, Prof. Femi Osofisan, Kanene Dieobi and Ichie Nnaeto Orazulike are the other board members of the non-profit organisation.

The first ACT was awarded in January 2015 to Caleb Adebayo. The judges have included Justine Labalestier, Brian Chikwava, Toni Kan Onwordi, Madeleine Thien, Joe Dunthorne, Chibundu Onuzo, Vamba Sherif and Monica Arac d’Nyeko.

The shortlist (in no particular order):

Famous Ogbewe for ‘The Goat Thief’, Olakunle Ologunro for ‘With What Mouth Does One Tell This Kind of Story’, Imade Iyamu Oduduwa for ‘The Return’, Tochukwu Okafor for ‘This is How You Lose Your Mind’, Dami Lare for  ‘Solving for X’ and Adams Adeosun for ‘Theatre of Tattered Things’.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *