Ballon d’Or 2018: Modric, Messi And Ronaldo Headlines List Of Nominees

Ballon d’Or 2018: Modric, Messi And Ronaldo Headlines List Of Nominees

The trio of Modric, Messi and Ronaldo headlines the 2018 list of Ballon d’Or nominees with the likes of Harry Kane, Eden Hazard and Kylian Mbappe also amongst the players nominated.

It has been a decade since Juventus attacker Cristiano Ronaldo first won the award, marking the start of an unprecedented duopoly between the Portuguese and Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi.

Also Read: FIFA suspends Sierra Leone from football activities

Former Brazilian playmaker, Kaka was the last player to win the coveted award in 2007.

Defender Fabio Cannavaro was victorious in 2006, while Ronaldinho, Andriy Shevchenko and Pavel Nedved were successful in 2005, 2004 and 2003 respectively.

The last English winner was Michael Owen in 2001, but Ronaldo and Messi have established a stunning stranglehold, winning five each.

Only Michel Platini, Johann Cruyff and Marco van Basten have won three of the awards, while Germany duo Franz Beckenbauer and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Brazil’s Ronaldo, Spain’s Alfredo Di Stefano and England’s Kevin Keegan have won two apiece.

Here is the list of all the 30 nominees:

  • Sergio Aguero
  • Alisson Becker
  • Gareth Bale
  • Karim Benzema
  • Edinson Cavani
  • Thibaut Courtois
  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Kevin De Bruyne
  • Roberto Firmino
  • Diego Godin
  • Antoine Griezmann
  • Eden Hazard
  • Isco
  • Harry Kane
  • N’Golo Kante
  • Hugo Lloris
  • Mario Mandzukic
  • Sadio Mane
  • Marcelo
  • Kylian Mbappe
  • Lionel Messi
  • Luka Modric
  • Neymar
  • Jan Oblak
  • Paul Pogba
  • Ivan Rakitic
  • Sergio Ramos
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Luis Suarez
  • Raphael Varane





We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *