Breaking: 15 APC Senators Dump Ruling Party; Defect To PDP

Breaking: 15 APC Senators Dump Ruling Party; Defect To PDP
Nigerian Senators at plenary
Nigerian Senators at plenary

Not less than 15 Senators from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), have defected to the main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), after weeks of speculations.
The announcement of the defection of the Senators was made by the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, during plenary on Tuesday, July 24, 2018.
The 15 defectors cited that the APC was being factionalized, hence, they would not continue to pursue their political careers under the ruling party.
However, the Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawal opposed the defection, saying the action of the affected lawmakers should be quarantined while the letter written by the defected lawmakers should be stood down but the Senators reportedly shouted him down as the defectors were widely welcomed by their colleagues in the PDP.
Some of the Senators who defected were Dino Melaye, Barnabas Gemade, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Lanre Tejuoso, Suleiman Hunkuyi, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Abdullahi Danbaba, Mohammed Isa Haman and Nafada Usman Bayero, Barnabas Gemade, Shitu Ubali, Isa Misau, Suleiman Nazif, among others.
The defection came on a day the houses of the President of the Senate, and the Deputy President of the Senate, Dr. Ike Ekweremadu, were invaded by operatives of the Department of State Services, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission and Nigeria Police.

The Senate Twitter handle also confirmed the defection of the Senators with this tweet:

Isaac Dachen Editor
Isaac Dachen is the Editor-In-Chief at Sabinews. He is a graduate of English and Public Relations. A social critic and political analyst, he is also a big, big Arsenal fan.
follow me

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *