Female students emerge winners in National essay competition

Female students emerge winners in National essay competition

Miss Fadilah Saliu-Ahmed of Zamani College, Kaduna, has been announced as the winner of the 13th Mike Okonkwo National Essay Competition for Secondary School Students.

According to Prof. T. A. Ezeigbo, the Chief Examiner of the competition, she scored 75% in the first round of the competition and maintained the same grade to lead in the second round. “Miss. Saliu-Ahmed wrote with tact in a natural and effortless way,” she said. “Her expressive ability and the application of necessary grammatical disposition, made her the first prize-winner for this year’s competition.” The second position went to Miss. Barakat Adebayo of Roshallom International School Egbeda, Lagos, while Miss. Wuraola Adeoye of Fountain Height Secondary School, Lagos, clinched the third position.

Other winners are: Miss. Oluchi Onyenso of Corona Secondary School, Agbara, fourth; Moradeyo Olaitan of Fountain Height Secondary School, Lagos, fifth. The sixth and seventh positions went, respectively, to Nathaniel Brown of Ritman College Ikot Epkene, Akwa-Ibom State and Master Ibe Solomon of Township Comprehensive Secondary School, Amaifeke, in Imo state.
The Chief Examiner’s report with The Sun Education shows that a total of eight hundred and forty-six (846) entries were received for the 13th edition of the competition. “The organisers introduced a filtering procedure and quality enhancement mechanisms, which ensured that only good and judgeable essays got to the judges for assessment,” Prof. Ezeigbo noted in the report. “The competition has become immensely popular, and the formation of an alumni association is becoming an increasing possibility. This year, incidences of copying, collaboration and plagiarisms that regularly characterised the exercise in preceding years have reduced significantly.” Read more

Photo Credit


We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *