National merit awardees to collect N10m each

National merit awardees to collect N10m each

President Muhammadu Buhari will in Abuja on Thursday, December 1, award N10 million each to two recipients of this year’s Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM).

Etim Essien, Chairman, Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA), disclosed this at a news conference to mark the 9th Forum of NNOM Laureates in Abuja on Thursday. The theme of the forum is: “Mono-Economy, Diversification, Exchange Rate Stability and the Development of the Nigerian Nation’’.

The NNOM is the highest national honours given to those who have excelled in the field of Science, Medicine, Engineering/Technology and Humanities. The award is distinct from the more popular national honours, often given to politicians. Mr. Essien said the president would give out a cash prize of N10 million alongside certificates and medals to each recipient. Read more

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *