March 23, 2019

Nigerian Army University To Begin In 2018/2019 Sessions

Nigerian Army University To Begin In 2018/2019 Sessions


The Government has stated that academic activities will begin in the Nigerian Army University in the 2018/2019 session, according to a statement by the acting vice-chancellor of the University, David Malgwi

The University will start out with five faculties and 39 programmes, David Malgwi said during a foundation laying ceremony on Tuesday.

Speaking on Tuesday at the foundation-laying ceremony on Tuesday, he said the university will begin operations with five faculties and 39 programmes. The university is designed to have 14 faculties, 113 departments, and 493 programmes, according to the David Malgwi


Tukur Burutai, the chief of army staff, said N2 billion has been provided for the take-off of the university project.


The General said the aim of the institution was to build the capacity of the Nigerian Army to enable it to compete with other armies in the world. More so, as national security is a crucial interest for the present government and Nigeria’s regional status in the continent.


‘The university is designed to create the critical mass required for research, innovations, testing, and development of military equipment in the 21st-century setting,’ he said.


The foundation was laid by Adamu Adamu, minister of education who represented President Muhammadu Buhari.

ALSO READ: iCreate Launch Skills Fest to Tackle Unemployment

Adamu said the establishment of the university would be of immense benefit not only to the military but also to the country. He also used the opportunity to laud the APC-led government’s promotion of new universities through the provision of education infrastructures.

‘Since we came on board we have increased access by establishing new universities at the federal, state and private level,’ he said.


‘This year alone, we have established Nigerian Maritime University, Delta; Nigeria Air Force Institute, Kaduna and the Nigeria Army University, Biu.


‘We have also approved the establishment of eight state and 15 private universities since we assumed office.’


We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *