Osun Rerun: APC’s Oyetola Wins

Osun Rerun: APC’s Oyetola Wins

The Osun State rerun conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has been decided with the All Progressive Alliance’s (APC) candidate, Gboyega Oyetola winning the poll.

The keenly contested election had been declared inconclusive by INEC on Sunday which necessitated a rerun.

Also Read: No Re-election For Governors Who Oppose Minimum Wage – NLC

The APC candidate polled 1,160 votes which increased his tally from the first ballot at 254,345 votes to take his total tally to 255,505.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ademola Adeleke polled 325 votes which increased his initial tally of 254,698 to 255,023.

Oyetola came out victorious after the rerun was held across seven units across four local governments due to irregularities in the initial poll on September 22.

The initial election on Saturday had been declared inconclusive by INEC because the margin of lead is lower than the number of registered voters (which is 3,498) in the disputed areas.

The INEC Returning Officer, Joseph Afuwape declared Oyetola winner at exactly 1:23 am.

He said: Oyetola, having satisfied the requirement of the law, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected”.

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *