Police Summons Saraki, Melaye, Murray-Bruce Over Protest

Police Summons Saraki, Melaye, Murray-Bruce Over Protest

The Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris has invited the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, and Senators Dino Melaye and Ben Bruce over their alleged involvement in the disturbance of public peace and safety in the FCT.

The three lawmakers alongside other leaders of the People’s Democratic Party on Friday led a protest demanding the cancellation of the just concluded Osun State governorship election.

During the protest, PDP leaders were allegedly harassed and teargassed by security operatives of the Nigerian government.

ALSO READ: PDP Convention: APC Mocks Saraki, Others over Venue – Bakare Majeed

Bruce had alleged that police attacked leaders and members of PDP, who were protesting against the outcome of the Osun State Governorship election at the headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Abuja.

Reacting, the Force Spokesman, Ag. DCP Jimoh Moshood said in a statement on Friday in Abuja that the politicians were invited to report themselves to the IGP Monitoring Unit at the Force Headquarters on Monday, 8th October, 2018 for investigation.

“Senator Bukola Saraki, Senator Dino Melaye and Senator Ben Bruce who were captured on camera to have been involved in the disturbance of public peace and public safety, unlawful blockade of Shehu Shagari way for several hours preventing motorists, road users and other members of the public from having access and passage on the highway,” Moshood said.

“The Inspector General of Police has directed an immediate investigation into this unprovoked and unwarranted attack on the personnel of the Nigeria Police Force and the Force Headquarters premises which is against the law and condemnable,” he added.

Lilian Osigwe Editor

A Creative and Versatile Writer.  
Currently writes for SabiNews Media

follow me

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *