March 22, 2019

Presidential, NASS Candidates Know Fates As INEC Releases Names (FULL LIST)

Presidential, NASS Candidates Know Fates As INEC Releases Names (FULL LIST)

The premier electoral body in Nigeria, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday released the names of the presidential and National Assembly candidates jostling for political posts in the upcoming 2019 general elections.

This is as stipulated in Section 31 (3) of the Electoral Act 2010 which states, “The commission shall, within seven days of the receipt of the personal particulars of the candidates, publish same in the constituency where the candidate intends to contest the election”.

The final day for submission of names of presidential candidates and Senate/House of Reps was last Thursday.

The list was posted at the headquarters of INEC in Abuja as well as its provincial offices across the country.

Among presidential candidates on the list are President Muhammadu Buhari (APC), Atiku Abubakar (PDP), Obadiahia of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Donald Duke of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Olusegun Mimiko of Zenith Labour Party(ZLP).

The trio of incumbent senators from Anambra: Victor Umeh, Stella Oduah and Uche Ekwenife were also listed as contestants.

Also Read: 2019 Elections: INEC To Announce Senate, Presidential Candidates Today

The Head, Voter Education and Publicity, INEC Anambra Chapter, Leo Nkedife said the names “will equally be published in all the constituencies and local government headquarters where elections will hold”.

In Anambra Central Senatorial District, the published candidates are Charles Odunukwe of Peoples Democratic (PDP), Umeh of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Ekwunife of All Progressives Congress (APC).

In South Senatorial District, Andy Uba of the APC, Chukwunedum Ubah of the PDP and Nicholas Ukachukwu of APGA made the list.

For North Senatorial District, Margery Okadigbo of the APC, Oduah of the PDP and Chinedu Emeka of APGA made the provisional list.

According to Nkedife, the list of governorship and House of Assembly candidates would be published on November 2.

In Bayelsa, immediate past Commissioner of Works and Infrastructure Lawrence Ewhrujakpo is the PDP candidate and he would contest against Mathew Karimo of the APC.

Bayelsa East sees Edwin Blessing Ipigansi (PDP) and Degi Eraumieyo (APC) squaring up. In Bayelsa Central, Douye Diri (PDP) and Festus Daumeri (APC) will slug it out.

For the Sagbama-Ekeremor Federal Constituency, Famous Daumeigha (APC) and Fredrick Agnes (PDP); Yenagoa-Opokuma, Osomkeme Blankson, APC and Steve Azaiki PDP; Southern Ijaw, Preye Oseke, APC.

Others are Ogbia Federal Constituency, Samuel Ogbuku (APC), Fred Obua (PDP); Brass, Isreal Sunny-Goli, APC and Marie Ebikake, PDP.

INEC also listed 50 candidates would jostle for three Lagos senatorial seats across 25 political parties while 249 candidates across 25 parties are contesting for the state’s 24 House of Representative’s positions.

A close scrutiny of the list reveals Lagos West Senatorial District has the highest contenders of 22 candidates while Lagos East and Lagos Central had 15 and 13 contestants respectively.

The political parties fielding candidates in Lagos West are Accord, AA, ADP, AAC, ADC, APC, AD, ANP, APM, CAP, DPP, GPN, MPN, NCP, ND, PDP, PPN, PRP, PT, PPC, UDP and YPP.

In Lagos East, the political parties fielding candidates are Accord, ACD, AAC, ADC, APC, AD, CAP, DPP, ID, MPN, PDP, PPN, PT and PPC.

In Lagos Central, the following parties have candidates: Accord, ACD, ADC, APC, ANP, FJP, ID, LM, MPN, PDP and PT.

For the House of Representatives seats, of the 30 political parties participating, only PDP, APC and ADC are fielding candidates in all the 24 federal constituencies. Others did not.

In Ogun, outgoing Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun Central) is on the list of senatorial candidates of the APC.

The other APC candidates are Chief of Staff to the Governor, Tolu Odebiyi (Ogun West) and Senator Lekan Mustapha (Ogun East).

The others are the son of former Governor Olusegun Osoba, Olumide Osoba, who is listed for Obafemi – Owode and Odeda Federal Constituency seat.

The others are Jimoh Ojugbele (Ado/Odo/Ota), Sulaiman Ismail (Ijebu North, Ijebu East and Ogun Waterside constituency), Ibrahim Isiaka (Ifo/ Ewekoro Federal Constituency), Edun Oladapo, (Abeokuta South Federal Constituency), Biyi Otegbeye (Egbado South and Ipokia), Kayode Oladele (Egbado North, Imeko Afon) Osunsanya Korede (Ijebu North, Ijebu -Ode, Odogbolu) and Adewunmi Onanuga (Ikenne, Remo North, Sagamu).

Senatorial candidates of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) are former Speaker Titi Oseni – Gomez (Ogun Central), Adedeji Ashiru (Ogun East) and Babatunde Ogunola (Ogun West).

In FCT, those contesting for the Senate are Zaphaniah Jisalo (APC); Philip Aduda, (PDP); Esther Audu, (ADC) and Eric lbe, (SDP).

The contestants for the House of Representatives (AMAC Bwari) are Lamorde Hallilu (APC), Micah Jiba (PDP); and Ene Idoko-Abel (ADC).

In Benue State, former Governor Gabriel Suswam (PDP) will battle Barnabas Gemade (SDP), Joseph Akaagerger (APGA) and Former Benue State Internal Revenue Service Chair Mimi Orubi (APC) will contest for the Zone A Benue North East senatorial seat.

In Zone C which Senator David Mark is vacating, former Minister Abba Morro (PDP) is running against former permanent Secretary of Defence, Okibe Onoja Mike (SDP).

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *