Senate constitutes Committee on Staff Welfare

Senate constitutes Committee on Staff Welfare

The Senate has named members to be included in a committee of the National Assembly that will look into the welfare of its staff.

The committee which was inaugurated during plenary on Thursday, January 17, has the following as members: Senators Emmanuel Paulker (Chairman), Binta Masi Garba, Ahmed Ogembe, Stella Oduah, Abdulfatai Buhari and Ibrahim Gobir.

Also Read: Boko Haram: ‘Excess Crude Account Funds Spent In Acquisition Of Military Equipment’ – FG

Also constituted was a Committee on the Promissory Note Program and a Bond Issuance to settle inherited local debts and contractual obligations on a refund to state governments, claims in Export Expansion Grant (EEG) scheme and contractual liabilities.

The Senators in this committee are Francis Alimekhena (Chairman), Samuel Anyanwu, Emmanuel Paulker, Shehu Sani, Rafiu Ibrahim and Monsurat Sunmonu.

The lawmakers from the red chamber are to meet with their counterparts from the House of Representatives for the conference.

Last year, the staff of the National Assembly had shut down the Assembly Complex over the non-payment of their salaries and allowances.

The committee has the mandate of exploring the issues and making recommendations to avoid the occurrence of workers shutting down the federal parliament in the future.

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *