Six Nigerian writers shortlisted for 2015 Morland Writing Scholarship

Six Nigerian writers shortlisted for 2015 Morland Writing Scholarship

Six Nigerian writers have made it to the shortlist of the 2015 Morland Writing Scholarship. The announcement was posted on the Foundation’s website today.

Of the twenty one shortlisted applicants, South Africa had the highest with seven writers. Ghana and Uganda were represented with three and two respectively.

Michela Wrong, Literary Director of the Foundation said, “This year we had 345 entries. This was fewer than last year but I felt the overall standard was higher. Now that the Scholarships are better known we are attracting some of the best African writers. Some of the entries left me almost breathless. I am confident our four Scholarships will yield four outstanding books. Our only disappointment is not to see greater geographical variety in the list. There are many talented writers in Tanzania, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya and other countries. We did have entries from them but none that made the short list. We would encourage people writing in English from all over Africa to apply in future years.”

The complete list is below.

  1. Fatin Abbas (Sudan)
  2. Ayobami Adebayo (Nigeria)
  3. Ayesha Harruna Attah (Ghana)
  4. Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond (Ghana)
  5. Kurt Ellis (South Africa)
  6. Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria)
  7. Amy Heydenrych (South Africa)
  8. Mishka Hoosen (South Africa)
  9. Karen Jennings (South Africa)
  10. Beatrice Lamwaka (Uganda)
  11. Kopano Mabaso (South Africa)
  12. Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda)
  13. Kagiso Lesego Molope (South Africa)
  14. Cheryl Ntumy (Ghana)
  15. Bolaji Odofin (Nigeria)
  16. Mary Ononokpono (Nigeria)
  17. Ladi Opaluwa (Nigeria)
  18. Megan Ross (South Africa)
  19. Noo Saro – Wiwa (Nigeria)
  20. Wiam El-Tamami (Egypt)
  21. Blessing – Miles Tendi (Zimbabwe)


The final four winners will be announced soon.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *