March 23, 2019

University of Ibadan names theatre after Wole Soyinka

University of Ibadan names theatre after Wole Soyinka

The Council and Senate of the University of Ibadan have decided to rename the Arts Theatre of the University after Professor Wole Soyinka.

A statement released by Dr. Tunde Awosanmi of the Department of Theatre Arts of the university said the decision was in recognition of his global status as a writer-activist and also the first African Head of the Department of Theatre Arts, which was founded in 1963.

“To be renamed Wole Soyinka Theatre, the unveiling, which has been combined with the 2nd Geoffrey Axworthy Lecture, instituted in honour of Geoffrey Axworthy, the founding Head of the Department of Theatre Arts., has been scheduled to hold on Tuesday,  July 31, 2018,” said the statement.

The Arts Theatre is a very historical structure. Apart from being one of the oldest buildings in the University, having been constructed in 1955 with a generous grant from the Rockefella Foundation, it has assisted – being a major laboratory to the Department – in producing an enormous size of human resource for the Nigerian nation’s  and indeed, Africa’s creative and culture industry, not to talk of the media, civil service, banking, oil and gas, etc. sectors.

“It is no doubt the oldest institutional theatre in Nigeria and most likely in Africa since the Department which it houses is the oldest  on the African continent,” Awosanmi stated.

Following the unveiling immediately is the Geoffrey Axworthy Lecture by Professor Ahmed Yerima of the Redeemers University. The first in the series of the lecture was delivered in 2013 by Professor Wole Soyinka on the occasion of the 50 Years anniversary of the Department of Theatre Arts. The general public, especially old students of the Department, are invited to the occasion, which has been designed to be a part of the University’s 70 Years Anniversary.

We think you'd love these too...

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *